The Honorable Greg Abbott Governor of Texas P.O. Box 12428 Austin, Texas 78711

The Honorable Dan Patrick Lieutenant Governor of Texas P.O. Box 12068 Austin, Texas 78711

The Honorable Dade Phelan Speaker of the Texas House P.O. Box 2910 Austin, Texas 78768

RE: Selection of Two New Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) Directors and Designation of ERCOT Board Chair

Dear Governor Abbott, Lieutenant Governor Patrick, and Speaker Phelan:

In our capacity as members of the ERCOT Board Selection Committee appointed under Texas Utilities Code § 39.1513, we are pleased to announce the selection of the following people to serve as directors on the ERCOT Board:

- Paul L. Foster. Mr. Foster is the President of Franklin Management, LLC and the founder and former Executive Chairman of Western Refining, Inc. He has previously served as Chairman of the University of Texas System Board of Regents as well as a member of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, the University of Texas System Lands Advisory Board, and the El Paso Branch of the Dallas Federal Reserve Bank. Mr. Foster holds a degree in accounting from Baylor University.
- Carlos F. Aguilar. Dr. Aguilar is President, CEO, and board member of Texas Central Partners, LLC, a Texas-based company developing the high-speed train that will connect North Texas to Houston. He also serves as a board member of Counterpart International, a leading organization strengthening civil society in over 60 countries around the world. Dr. Aguilar has significant experience leading global businesses and public-private development projects all over the world. Dr. Aguilar earned his undergraduate degree in Mechanical Engineering from Duke University and a PhD in Technological Economics from the University of Stirling in Scotland.

We designate Mr. Foster to serve as the Chair of the ERCOT Board. The effective date for these new directors will be October 12, 2021 at 12:01 a.m. The new directors will serve along with the other statutorily-designated members of the ERCOT Board: the Chairman of the Public Utility Commission of Texas (nonvoting); the Public Counsel of the Office of Public Utility Counsel (voting); and the Chief Executive Officer of ERCOT (nonvoting).

With the designation of the above directors, the ERCOT Board is now constituted with three voting members and authorized to act as ERCOT's new governing body. We will diligently continue our efforts to fill the remaining six board seats, but in the meantime they will remain vacant.

We are grateful that each of you has placed the confidence in us to fulfill this important part of Senate Bill 2. We look forward to continuing our search to fill the remaining positions on the ERCOT Board, and we will continue to keep you apprised of those forthcoming selections.

Sincerely,

Arch "Beaver" Aplin

G. Brint Ryan

Bill Jones

CC: The Honorable Peter Lake
Chairman, Public Utility Commission of Texas

The Honorable Will McAdams
Commissioner, Public Utility Commission of Texas

The Honorable Lori Cobos Commissioner, Public Utility Commission of Texas

The Honorable Jimmy Glotfelty
Commissioner, Public Utility Commission of Texas

The Honorable Chris Ekoh Interim Public Counsel, Office of Public Utility Counsel

Mr. Brad Jones
Interim Chief Executive Officer, ERCOT