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Submetering for apartments, condos and mobile home parks

Texans living in apartments, condominiums, mobile home parks,
and other multiple unit complexes have their electric power meters
read by the complex or park management rather than by the electric
company. This arrangement is
known as submetering. Some other
apartment residents don't have a
separate meter for their unit but pay
their share of the complex’s total
power hill based on the size of their
apartment or condo. This is known
as central system or nonsubmetered master metering. Customers
with either metering arrangement should know their rights and the
landlord’s responsibilities.

Electric Rates

Submetered bills are calculated by dividing the net total charges
for electric consumption, plus applicable tax, by the total number

of kilowatt-hours to obtain an average cost per kilowatt-hour. The
average kilowatt-hour cost shall then be multiplied by each tenant’s
kilowatt-hour consumption to obtain the charge to the tenant.
Electric Bills

Electric bills for submetered customers shall be rendered for the
same hilling period as that of the electric utility, generally monthly,
unless service is rendered for less than that period. The bill must
use the same hilling unit (usually kilowatt hours) that is used by the
electric provider in its bill to the complex.

The bill must include the payment due date, which shall not be less
than seven days after issuance, the

meter reading, the rate per kilowatt hour, and the total amount due
for that billing period. Charges for submetered electricity must be
billed separately from a tenant’s bill for rent or any other charges.

The submetered electric bill cannot include usage for the “common”

areas and facilities of the complex, such as patios, pool areas,
picnic areas, walkways, laundry rooms, and parking facilities.

If a tenant’s payment is late, the landlord may charge a onetime
late payment penalty of no more than 5% of the amount due. Itis a
violation for a tenant’s electric service to be disconnected for non-
payment of rent. Disconnection of any dwelling unit by the owner
other than a mobile home park is governed by the Texas Property
Code $92.008(h).

If a submetered hill is found to have over- or under-charged a ten-

ant, the landlord must calculate an adjustment. If a tenant is due
a refund, the adjustment must be made for the entire period of the
overcharges. If the complex underbills a tenant, the property
owner may back hill the tenant for the

amount of the underbilling for up to six months, unless the owner
can provide records that justify back billling for a longer period. If
the underbilling is $50 or more, the apartment owner shall offer to
the tenant a deferred payment plan option equal to the length of
time of the underbilling.

The property manager must keep records of the complex’s electric
bills, calculation of average cost of electricity, submetering reports,
and submeter tests for the current month plus the previous 12
months. Tenants have the right to inspect any of these reports dur-
ing normal business hours or at a time mutually arranged between
the tenant and the property manager.

Mobile Home Parks - Service Disconnection

Public Utility Commission’s rules § 25.142(e) applies only to mobile
homes in a mobile home park that are not leased by the mobile
home park owner. Disconnection of any other dwelling unit by the
owner is governed by Texas Property Code$892.008(h).

Disputes

In the event of a dispute between the tenant and the owner regard-
ing any bill, the tenant can file a complaint with the owner. The
owner has 30 days from the date of dispute notification to investi-
gate and report the results

to the tenant. If the tenant is dissatisfied with the results of the
investigation, the owner shall inform the tenant of the Public

Utility Commission of Texas complaint process, giving the tenant
the address and telephone number of the Commission’s Consumer
Protection Division.

Rental Agreement Requirements

The rental agreement or lease for every submetered residence
information on sub- metering as provided in this narrative or

a copy of the Public Utility Commission rules (Section 25.142) that
cover submetering (http://www.puc.texas.gov/agency/rulesnlaws/
subrules/electric/Electric.aspx). The lease must also clearly state
that the property owner, not the tenant, is responsible for the cost
of electricity serving the common areas. For information on central
systems or non-submetered master metering utilites, please see
our additional Fact Sheet available at www.puc.texas.gov.

QUESTIONS:
Call: 1-888-782-8477, in Austin 512-936-7120
(TTY 512-936-7136) (FAX 512-936-7003)

Online: http://www.puc.texas.gov/consumer/complaint/Complaint.aspx

Write:

PUC - Consumer Protection Division
P0. Box 13326, Austin, TX 78711-3326




